• December 10, 2023

Foo Fighters, Tina Turner, Jay-Z, more

This is a “public service announcement”: Jay-Z will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in his first year eligible for the award.

Artists become eligible 25 years after their first album, EP, or single is released, and Jay-Z released his debut album, Reasonable Doubt, in 1996.

The Rock Hall class 2021 is a true who’s who of modern influencers: Foo Fighters, The go-go’s, Todd Rundgren, Carole King and the queen of rock ‘n’ roll Tina Turner.

Foo Fighters, who dropped their self-titled debut album in 1995, and The Go-Go’s, whose first album was “Beauty and the Beat” in 1981, also made it to Rock Hall on their first try.

“This diverse class of talented candidates reflects the hall’s continued commitment to honor artists whose music made the sound of youth culture,” said John Sykes, chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, in a statement.

This is the second trip to the Rock Hall for three of this year’s participants. Foo Fighter front man Dave Grohl received his first Rock Hall introduction at Nirvana in 2014. Turner was inducted into the hall as a member of Ike and Tina Turner in 1991, and King has held a position with songwriter Gerry Goffin since 1990. This time around Turner and King are honored for their solo careers.

King paved the way for some of today’s most popular artists, including Taylor Swift. Speaking at the 2019 American Music Awards, Swift said King’s Tapestry, who turned 50 this year, showed her “that artists can transcend so many different phases and changes in people’s lives.”

With her signature sequins, voluminous hair, and throaty growl, Turner became an unlikely rock icon at the age of 44 when she released Private Dancer, her 1984 solo breakthrough hit, What’s Love Got to Do With It “and” I Can’t Stand the Rain. ”

More:Tina Turner HBO Doc investigates the trauma of abuse and advocates her introduction to the Rock Hall this year

The third time is the stimulus for Rundgren, who has been nominated since 2019.

Also in 2021, LL Cool J, Billy Preston and Randy Rhoads will receive awards for musical excellence. Clarence Avant the Ahmet Ertegun Award; and Kraftwerk, Gil Scott Heron and Charley Patton receive early influence awards.

This year’s ballot with 16 nominees was the most feminine in the more than 30-year history of the organization. Seven women were available for introduction, including Mary J. Blige, Chaka Khan, Kate Bush, and Dionne Warwick. Iron Maiden, Fela Kuti, Rage Against the Machine, LL Cool J, Devo and The New York Dolls rounded out the nominations.

This year’s introductions will take place on October 30th, in contrast to earlier ceremonies that traditionally took place in spring or early summer. They are slated for Cleveland’s Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, which according to a press release offers more space, flexibility and a priority for health and safety. The ceremony will air on HBO and streamed on HBO Max at a later date.

Featuring: Charles Trepany, David Oliver, and Patrick Ryan


Read Previous

What is the Nasdaq Composite, and What Companies are in It?

Read Next

‘Here Today’ And ‘The Water Man’ Are Here Just In Time For Mother’s Day : NPR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *