• April 14, 2024

‘Trial of the Chicago 7’ wins top ensemble

The late Chadwick Boseman looks even more like an Oscar lock and “The Trial of the Chicago 7” won the Biggest Prize during a Historic Night for Colored Actors on Sunday Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Aaron Sorkin’s courtroom drama “Chicago 7” won Best Cast in a Motion Picture Film, while “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” Bo-Stars Boseman and Viola Davis won Best Actor Honors at the SAG Awards. For the first time, color actors swept all four individual film categories.

Boseman’s widow, Simone Ledward Boseman, quoted her husband as she accepted his award: “When you see the world unbalanced, be a crusader pushing the seesaw of the spirit hard.”

SAG Awards:How can you see the show on Sunday – and will there be a red carpet?

Path to the Oscars:“Trial of the Chicago 7”, “Da 5 Bloods”, “Minari”, “Ma Rainey” top the nominations for the SAG Awards

In addition, Daniel Kaluuya won Best Supporting Actor for “Judas and the Black Messiah” and Yuh-jung Youn won the Supporting Actress for “Minari” and became the first Asian winner of a single SAG Acting Award for a film.

“This is for Chadwick Boseman and this is for Fred Hampton,” said Kaluuya in his acceptance speech in honor of the Da 5 Bloods actor he faced and Kaluuya’s role as Hampton, the real-life chairman of Black Panther Illinois he portrays in “Black Messiah”.

In the TV categories, “Schitt’s Creek” won best comedy ensemble and star Catherine O’Hara was best comedy actress. “The Crown” ruled the best drama cast contingent, Jason Bateman (“Ozark”) and Gillian Anderson (“The Crown”). got the best drama actor trophies and Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”) became the best comedy actor.

Check out all of the SAG winners (in bold) from Sunday Livestream pre-show and TV special.


Ensemble cast

“Da 5 Bloods”

“Ma Rainey’s black bum”


“One night in Miami”

WINNER: “The Chicago 7 Trial”


Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”

WINNER: Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Butt”

Anthony Hopkins, “The Father”

Gary Oldman, “Mank”

Steven Yeun, “Minari”


Amy Adams, “Hillbilly Elegy”

WINNER: Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Butt”

Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman”

Frances McDormand, “Nomadland”

Carey Mulligan, “Promising young woman”

supporting cast

Sacha Baron Cohen, “The Trial of Chicago 7”

Chadwick Boseman, “Da 5 Bloods”

WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Jared Leto, “The Little Things”

Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami”

Supporting actress

Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Movie Film”

Glenn Close, “Hillbilly Elegy”

Olivia Colman, “The Father”

WINNER: Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari”

Helena Zengel, “News of the World”

Stunt ensemble

“Da 5 Bloods”


“News from all over the world”

“The Trial of Chicago 7”

WINNER: “Wonder Woman 1984”


Ensemble in a drama series

“Better call Saul”


WINNER: “The Crown”

“Lovecraft Country”


Ensemble in a comedy series

“Dead for me”

“The flight attendant”

“The great”

WINNER: “Schitt’s Creek”

“Ted Lasso”

Actor in a drama series

WINNER: Jason Bateman, “Ozark”

Sterling K. Brown, “This is us”

Josh O’Connor, “The Crown”

Bob Odenkirk, “Better call Saul”

Regé-Jean Page, “Bridgerton”

Actress in a drama series

WINNER: Gillian Anderson, “The Crown”

Olivia Colman, “The Crown”

Emma Corrin, “The Crown”

Julia Garner, “Ozark”

Laura Linney, “Ozark”

Actor in a comedy series

Nicholas Hoult, “The Great”

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

Eugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

WINNER: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Ramy Youssef, “Ramy”

Actress in a comedy series

Christina Applegate, “Dead For Me”

Linda Cardellini, “Dead For Me”

Kaley Cuoco, “The Flight Attendant”

Annie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek”

WINNER: Catherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”

Actor in a television movie or miniseries

Bill Camp, “The Queen’s Game”

Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”

Hugh Grant, “The Undo”

Ethan Hawke, “The Good Lord Bird”

WINNER: Mark Ruffalo, “I Know So Much Is True”

Actress in a television movie or miniseries

Cate Blanchett: “Mrs. America”

Michaela Coel, “I can destroy you”

Nicole Kidman, “The Undo”

WINNER: Anya Taylor-Joy, “The Queen’s Gambit”

Kerry Washington, “Little Fires Everywhere”

Stunt ensemble

“The young”

“Cobra Kai”

“Lovecraft Country”

WINNER: “The Mandalorian”



Read Previous

How I’m Celebrating Spring | Bon Appétit

Read Next

Heineken Champions Cup: Scarlets 14-57 Sale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *